More coring photos please!

I’ve started posting some of the coring pictures we’ve received from paleoecologists up on the OpenQuaternary blog.  In an effort to try to preserve this iconic image, and to trace the academic geneology within paleoecology.

I posted this message on the PALEOLIM mailing list:

Hello all, I was hoping to find pictures of coring expeditions.  In particular lake coring, but I’m happy with anything you might have handy.  The older the better, but, I’m also happy to see recent pictures.  These are some of the most iconic pictures of our research, I think it might be nice to start thinking about archiving them for posterity.

I wanted to put them into a presentation at AGU (now passed), but then I just got curious about how far back our collective memory of coring expeditions goes, and how much has really changed out on the coring platform.

If the response is sufficient I’d be happy to put them all together in some form or another (to be decided) and make them available to share.  Perhaps on the Open Quaternary discussion blog (http://openquaternary.wordpress.com).

If you do have older pictures please send them my way, any people you can identify would be appreciated.

I thought that I might get some more response by passing the message on here as well.  If you have pictures from coring expeditions please pass them on to me, I’ve started a database for the pictures so that we can keep track of locations, publications, participants and pictures, in the hopes that as we get more and more we can begin to build a database that could be linked to something like Neotoma.

Obviously early stages, but if people are interested in collaborating then let me know, and in the meantime, dig up those old photos and send them my way!

BearLake_coring

Here’s a picture sent in by Steve Jackson.  This was a 1995 coring expedition in Bear Lake on the Kaibab Plateau.  From Left to right: Dave Larsen, Chengyu Weng, Darren Singer.  Chengyu Weng published the pollen record from this lake in 1999 as part of a multi-site study focusing on the late-Glacial, early-Holocene history of the region (Weng and Jackson, 1999).

Published by

downwithtime

Assistant scientist in the Department of Geography at the University of Wisconsin, Madison. Studying paleoecology and the challenges of large data synthesis.

Leave a Reply

