Rejection stinks.

I’ve posted about rejection before here, and I’m pretty sure everyone on the job market knows what it’s like, but after my two posts about the CNRS search I just thought I’d follow up to say that I didn’t get the position.

Ultimately I went in knowing that success was a long shot, but, when you’re sitting in the Jardin Botanique, eating crudité and remembering the Sainte-Maure de Touraine you had a few days ago, it’s hard not to believe that you’ve got a good shot.

Anyway, rejection sucks. Music rules, but even great music represents a lot of hard work, chances taken and a lot of rejection.  I met Zach Rogue once after a show in Vancouver and he seems like a super guy who worked hard to make some great music.

Published by

downwithtime

Assistant scientist in the Department of Geography at the University of Wisconsin, Madison. Studying paleoecology and the challenges of large data synthesis.

Leave a Reply

