Paleo-art, courtesy of my mom.

Figure 4.6 by Erica Pratt
Figure 1. It’s not often you see art inspired by pollen diagrams, but this watercolor shows a figure from my thesis superimposed with flowers and pollen grains, painting by Erica Pratt.

After completing my Ph.D I sent my mom a copy of my thesis. She claimed to have read it, and of course I didn’t really believe it, but for my (upcoming) birthday this year she gave me this painting (Figure 1), inspired by Figure 4.6 from my thesis, a pollen diagram of aerial pollen trapped in Vancouver over the course of 13 years. I suspect it’s one of the few painting inspired by a stratigraphic pollen diagram, but I’d love to see others.

Stratigraphic pollen diagram
Figure 2. The thesis figure that the painting is based on. If you’ve never seen a stratigraphic diagram before, time is on the y axis and each pollen taxon is drawn on a percent basis (the x axis), taxon by taxon.
Published by

downwithtime

Assistant scientist in the Department of Geography at the University of Wisconsin, Madison. Studying paleoecology and the challenges of large data synthesis.

10 thoughts on “Paleo-art, courtesy of my mom.”

    1. Yes, I realized soon after posting that I should have added it, but I won’t be on a computer with my thesis until later tonight. I was just hoping no one would notice! The lines behind the flowers are actually pretty faithful representations of each of the pollen taxa though.

  1. That’s great – really thoughtful.

    Not exactly palaeo, but my partner converted some academic text in one of John Birk’s biogeography papers into a short poem:


    Lochan an Druim tromh na Linntean

    (after H. J. B Birks; OS Grid Reference: NC435568)

    Leaves of the obligate snow-bed moss,
    Polytrichum sexangulare,
    indicate areas of late snow-lie,
    low near the lochan.

    Scattered plants form
    sparse cover on open soils,
    an arctic assemblage:
    long-lasting snow beds and
    meltwater runnels.

    The Holocene opens: dwarf-shrub heaths,
    and open birch woods;
    a mosaic of
    birch and hazel,
    aspen, rowan and willow,
    ferns and tall herbs.

    1. That’s great! My sister’s boyfriend told us this weekend that a poet friend of his took one of his final exams (he’s a Chemistry prof) and composed answers to them, without any knowledge of the field. I’m curious to see that, I’ll see if I can track it down.

Leave a Reply

