Making ridiculous graphs.

I make some pretty terrible graphs, especially when I’m working out ideas.  It’s a really bad habit of mine.  You’d think I’d have learned to label my axes, add legends and all that jazz by now, but lets face it, when you’re coding down to the wire in time for a meeting. . . well, the axes don’t just label themselves informatively on their own.  R does of course label the axes by default, but seriously, what does dry.test$zonestuff vs. dry.test$pca.attempt tell anyone?  Well, it tells people you need to learn how to make informative variable names, but, aside from that.

With this in mind, I’d like to present a graph I made a while back, just after I switched into my Ph.D that was recently sent back to me by Elizabeth Elle at Simon Fraser University.  It was a bit of a joke, but the non-linearity in the curve reflects the higher standards for graph making that one expects from a Ph.D candidate.

A silly graph about graphs.
Figure 1. I’m just not all that good at making graphs, even when I’m joking about it. What does the y-axis mean really, and if it’s proportional to the best graph I can make, why is no point on there at 1.0? Ph.D candidates are all the same, no work ethic!
Published by

downwithtime

Assistant scientist in the Department of Geography at the University of Wisconsin, Madison. Studying paleoecology and the challenges of large data synthesis.

Leave a Reply

